best websites of the world

Urban body artists rock the Caldera

 A victory by American Cory DeMeyers concluded the third running of Red Bull Art of Motion of Freerunners in Firostefani on the Greek island of Santorini. Alexander Baiturin of Russia and Jesse la Flair finished second and third, respectively. Competition, results, wins and victories are not the words that are usually heard when Freerunners congregate.


Instead they tend to talk about pleasure, elegance, fluidity and efficiency. Even though they prefer not to view themselves as athletes, their performances are nevertheless bursting with world-class athleticism. They leap from rooftop to rooftop, scamper up trees, balance themselves on exposed obstacles in urban jungles while all the while completing series of daring flips, spins and flick-flacks. At the Red Bull Art of Motion on the Greek island of Santorini, 18 of the world’s best urban artists attempted to blend art and sports together in the unique ambience of the immaculate white city perched on the rocky cliffs of the world famous volcano caldera. Rooftops, domes, terraces and swimming pools were all part of the 200-meter long course with a height differential of 50 meters that the athletes had to master within a two-minute time limit. Cory DeMeyers had the most spectacular, most elegant and most fluid movements down the course and the 25-year-old American completed his run in front of thousands of spectators and most of his rivals with a leap into the swimming pool of the “Sunrocks” hotel. Russia’s Alexander Baiturin was in second place behind the winner from Los Angeles while Jesse La Flair from the United States took third place. In Freerunning women compete against men as well and in the unofficial women’s competition there was a tie for first place between Austria’s Pamela Forster and Russia’s Alexandra Shevchenko.

Final Result Red Bull Art Of Motion 2013

1. Cory DeMeyers (USA) 449 Points

2. Alexander Baiturin (RUS) 447 Points

3. Jesse La Flair (USA) 443 Points

4. Yoann Leroux (FRA) 412 Points

5. Joel Eggimann (SUI) 389 Points

6. Stanislavs Lanzdans (LAT) 382 Points

7. Dimitris Kyrsanidis (GRE) 381 Points

8. Daniel Mircea (GRE) 378 Points

Best Female

Aleksandra Shevchenko (RUS)

Pamela Forster (AUT)

Best Trick

Jesse La Flair (USA)